Skip to main content

Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg

With more than 38,000 students, Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU) is the largest university in Northern Bavaria and has a strong reputation in research and teaching that reaches far beyond regional boundaries. Its high potential in research makes it a strong partner for business and culture. Tradition and innovation feature strongly at Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg. The broad range of subjects on offer and the interdisciplinary network at the university are unique in Germany. FAU also collaborates closely with many non-university research institutions and industries and it has a pioneering role in developing the technology of tomorrow.

Faculties at FAU

  • Faculty of Business, Economics, and Law
  • Faculty of Sciences: Biology, Chemistry and Pharmacy, Geography and Geosciences, Mathematics, Physics, Optics, Information and Photonics
  • Faculty of Engineering: Computer Science, Electrical, Electronic and Communication Engineering, Chemical and Biological Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering, Mechanical Engineering
  • Faculty of Medicine
  • Faculty of Humanities, Social Sciences, and Theology